Sibling Rivals We Are Not.

This morning, after posting about the quirkier aspects of life with my brother Dustin, I worried: Had I offended him? Might the post come across as insensitive or derogatory? Then, I remembered that it was my sweet and brilliant sister who as a little girl nicknamed him “Tony” after hearing adults discuss his spastic tone. And it was Dustin himself who wrote the following for a 1st grade rhyming assignment:

I am a quad; unable to nod. My little mind is squished; in a dappled dish.

I can only imagine what his teacher thought; knowing Dustin as I do I know he anticipated that. So thank you siblings, for making it okay to laugh in the face of challenges!!!

Leave a Reply

