Meow Means Danger.

  Because my 20-week ultrasound is set for tomorrow, I’ve been thinking back to the very first prenatal appointment we had on Valentine’s Day and how weird the nurses’ questions were.  No one talked to me about smoking, drugs, domestic abuse or any number of other things you might consider relevant for a newly pregnant woman.  However, THREE different nurses came in to grill me about whether I have a cat. The prevalent warnings seemed to be “Don’t touch any cats,” “be careful about cats,” and my favorite, “don’t touch cat poop” (as if that’s just a huge temptation).  I know, I know: toxoplasmosis.  But for a disease that’s incredibly rare in the U.S. you’d think they might relax a bit regarding cats.  Especially since I’m CLEARLY a dog person!

Leave a Reply

